The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Perks of Being a Wallflower

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”
-Bill Anderson

Surprise review! I borrowed this book from a friend yesterday, and finished all but 20 pages in one day. Yes, it was that good.

I’ve had this on my to-read list on GoodReads since the day I saw the commercial for the movie, though I had no idea what it was about. I knew I heard about it, and if they were making it into a movie, that was automatically enough for me to want to read it. I had high expectations because of all of the good things I’ve heard about it, and it didn’t disappoint.

Charlie is a freshman in high school and makes friends with a group of seniors after his best friend Michael commits suicide. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is set in the 90’s, so there are countless references to 80’s and 90’s music, movies, and TV shows. Charlie is also a big reader, so the book mentions many English literature books.

Since this book is about life in high school, there are so many topics involved, which makes it perfect for anyone. I laughed, I cried, I felt the characters’ emotions– which is more than I can say for most of the books I’ve read. This is a truly unique novel that definitely deserves every bit of hype that it gets, and I can’t wait for the movie to come out on DVD. In my honest opinion, everyone should read this book, even if it’s not your style. You won’t be disappointed.

-J

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

